Testimonials

22 Nov 2019
Andrew provided an excellent day trip from our hotel at the Glasgow Airport to the farm near Oban, where my three times great grandmother was born. My wife was concerned about my driving on the left side of the road, and boy was I glad I was not driving in the Scottish Highlands. Stopped at a delightful pub in Oban for lunch and then went exploring inland to find the farm. Driving around the loop on the farm, I discovered cottages behind the manor house, leading me to investigate new ways to discover my ancestors.

(date of trip 27 Oct 2019)
R. Hartman, Fullerton, California
review taken from tripadvisor

Outstanding Guide for our day trip to St. Andrews. Andrew picked us up in the morning at our hotel in Edinburgh and took us to our bucket-list destination of St. Andrews, stopping along the way at different charming and historical spots. Andrew is a weath of knowledge on all of Scotland, past and present, We learned so much from him – we didn’t want the day to end. My husband and I highly recommend Andrew!

Lisa Eley, Kentucky, USA

11th June 2019
review taken from tripadvisor

Is it possible to meet and travel in close company with a stranger for twelve days and at the end of that period of time be able still to maintain cordiality? When traveling with Lord Gray the answer MUST be resounding in the affirmative!
Ours was an extended personal, tailored tour in the Scottish Highlands specific to our interests, and we have Andrew’s diligent devotion to credit for the experience of such a rewarding and enjoyable first visit to the Highlands.
From our first day traveling with Andrew in his Mercedes vehicle to the last day of delivery to the airport, Andrew’s conduct can only be described as most gentlemanly, thoughtful, and accommodating. Though always professional, a sincere friendliness and warmth emanated during our relaxed conversations. Andrew might easily have been an historian, or educator as his depth of knowledge of Scottish history is broad and expansive and, importantly, delivered in the most amicable manner.
We appreciated Andrew’s patience and advice communicating via many e-mails to iron out an itinerary specific to our wishes, incorporating knowledgeable suggestions, all accomplished weeks before our arrival in Edinburgh.His recommendations were splendid and his intuitions for our needs and requirements were invaluable to our experience.
It was very important to our days to include explorations of locations particular to our Clan affiliations, sites of military and historical significance, and exposure to the culture beyond that only presented for the consumption of tourists. Andrew fulfilled all our requests and introduced us to features of the landscape and culture that we never would have discovered on our own. On day one we met as strangers. On day twelve we parted as very good friends.
From The Scottish Highlands we traveled on to Ireland and further to Iceland. Our only wish was that we would have had Andrew with us during those experiences as well!

David & Ann McIntire, Ark, Virginia

November 2017
review taken from tripadvisor

October 6th 2016

Dear Andrew - Well, that last day was a lot of driving for you – thank you for all your assistance. It was an enjoyable few days. The waterfall at Loch Arkaig, the steam locomotive at Aviemore and even meeting Digger The Clydesdale up at Aboyne were the highlights. Every good wish to you & Lucy

Julia Small, Crieff

J

Dear Andrew
Many thanks for looking after us so well during our week touring with you.

Certainly for John, the Library at Innerpeffray was the stand-out memory. We loved the scenery, especially on Skye.
If you ever come to the States, please visit us on our beautiful Mackinac Island – yes it rains here too !
We will certainly recommend you to our travel agent, Clare.

Fond good wishes


Mrs Mac & Mary K

June 2016

We were in Oban for only one day as a cruise day in port. We were interested in seeing  Cruachan Power Station (why not visit a power station when you are are in the West Highlands??). Without public transport the Power Station folks suggested Lord Gray. I am so glad they did. We spent 10 hours with Andrew. and it was a highlight of our cruise. We had emailed prior to our arrival so he had a tentative itinerary in mind but of course was very agreeable about making changes as we went. He met us as planned at the pier. Not only did we get a good overview of the area,the scenery, a stop at a great tea shop for scones, sports of historic significance, neolithic monuments, and many off the beaten path sights. We also visited Inverary Castle and as Lord Gray knows the Duke of Argyll he was able to explain about the house, the portraits and other items in the house. We have been to many castles and weren’t quite sure about spending time doing another one, but this tour gave us real insights into the castle. Andrew is very agreeable, easy-going and knowledgeable. The hours flew by and we felt it was the best shore excursion of our cruise. We highly recommend his services.

Janet W, Santa Rosa, California

July 2015

Thanks to your expert knowledge and indeed your capable driving on some of those winding roads in the Highlands,

we had a really memorable trip to Scotland.

Very Best wishes


Jack Zager & family, Tennessee

June 2015

Me, my two young daughters, my mom and my mother in law spent one wonderful week in Edinburgh and the Highlands. Andrew was great, helped us in every way he could and made our trip unforgettable.

 

Anna Juila Jorge, Rio de Janeiro, Brasil

August 2012

April 2012

Dear Lord Gray, Having returned to the U.S. after a very moving “Titanic Memorial Cruise”, I want to say thank you again for your expertise on the 2 day tour of the area around Oban. All the best to you and yours.”

Mike Hill, Nashville, TN, USA

coat%20of%20arms_edited.png